Farley Pearce and Yuko Tanaka

In “D”: the Viennese-tuned Bass

3:00 PM Wednesday, June 4
– 2320 Dana Street, between Bancroft and Durant

Tickets available at the door. Prices: $15 general admission, $10 students, seniors, and disabled.


Sperger manuscript

Music by Telemann, J.S. Bach, Mozart, J.M. Sperger, Dragonetti, and Leroy Anderson.

Leopold Mozart wrote in 1765 referring to the 5-stringed  fretted violons or double basses : “… one can also perform difficult passages easily, and I have heard concertos,trios, solos and so forth performed on one of these with great beauty.” The earliest record of this tuning(F’, A’, D, F#, A) is from the 1690’s, but it was a period of 50 years beginning in the 1760’s that many bass virtuosos flourished in and around Vienna.  In addition to the piece by composer/ bass virtuoso Sperger, I feature violin and cello solos which can be played with this historical setup.

Farley Pearce, contrabasso
Adaiha MacAdam-Somer, violoncello
Yuko Tanaka, fortepiano

Back to Fringe Concert Calendar.